Prizes and Awards

Celebrating scientists and the value of science in society

One of Fred Kavli’s earliest ambitions when creating the foundation was establishing an international prize that honors the best of science—The Kavli Prize—in partnership with The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters and The Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research.

Over the years we have continued to identify other opportunities to recognize the work of those who are focused on science, including science journalists. This includes endowing the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards, and partnering with the Royal Society to support the Kavli Medals that celebrate excellence in science and education.

Prizes and Awards

  • The Kavli Prize
  • AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards
  • Royal Society Kavli Medals

The Kavli Prize

“The Kavli Prizes are awarded in three areas: astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience – the largest, the smallest, and the most complex. I believe these prizes are in the most exciting fields for the twenty-first century and beyond.” – Fred Kavli

AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards 

The AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards are an internationally recognized measure of excellence in science journalism and are awarded annually to individuals for coverage of the sciences, engineering and mathematics.

learn more

Royal Society Kavli Medals

The Kavli Foundation supports two Royal Society medals honoring achievements in science and education.

Learn more
see all news

Sign up for the latest news and insights.

Sign Up
  • Home
  • News & Events
  • Staff
  • Contact
The Kavli Foundation
The Kavli Foundation

Advancing science for the benefit of humanity.

  • Terms of Use
  • Privacy Policy
  • Creative Commons License

Copyright © 2021 The Kavli Foundation