Board of Directors and Trustees





The Kavli Foundation is governed by a board of directors that includes one Kavli family member, six leaders from science, higher education and business, and the foundation’s president. The Kavli Charitable Trust was also created as an auxiliary mechanism to ensure that we stay true to the foundation’s mission and our founder’s vision. The Kavli Charitable Trust consists of two trustees, the presidents of Caltech and Stanford Universities.

Board of Directors

Rockell N. Hankin

Emily Carter

Mary Sue Coleman

Douglas K. Freeman

Shirley Malcom

Richard A. Meserve

Gunnar K. Nilsen

Henry T. Yang


Thomas F. Rosenbaum

President of the California Institute of Technology

Marc Tessier-Lavigne

President of Stanford University

Past Board Members

  • Fred Kavli
  • Thomas E. Everhart
  • Jack W. Peltason
  • Charles M. Vest


  • Home
  • News & Events
  • Staff
  • Contact
The Kavli Foundation
The Kavli Foundation

Advancing science for the benefit of humanity.

  • Terms of Use
  • Privacy Policy
  • Creative Commons License

Copyright © 2022 The Kavli Foundation