AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards

Awarding excellence in science journalism

The  AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards are an internationally recognized measure of excellence in science journalism and are awarded annually to individuals for coverage of the sciences, engineering and mathematics. Administered by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and endowed by the foundation in 2009, these independently juried awards have honored distinguished reporting on science by professional journalists since 1945. The selection of winners is made by panels of journalists who judge the work of their peers. Awards are given internationally for reporting in newspapers, magazines, video, audio and children’s news.

This year's winners of the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards

See the 2020 Winners

The program, endowed by The Kavli Foundation and open to journalists worldwide, celebrated its 75th anniversary in 2020.

Learn more

The Kavli Prize

A hallmark of The Kavli Foundation, and our founder’s vision, is the international Kavli Prize. Establishing a prize that honors the best of science on a global level was one of Fred Kavli’s earliest ambitions when creating the foundation.

Royal Society Kavli Medals

The Kavli Foundation supports two Royal Society medals honoring achievements in science and education.

Learn more


  • Home
  • News & Events
  • Staff
  • Contact
The Kavli Foundation
The Kavli Foundation

Advancing science for the benefit of humanity.

  • Terms of Use
  • Privacy Policy
  • Creative Commons License

Copyright © 2023 The Kavli Foundation